Anderson County was named after Revolutionary War hero Robert Anderson and was settled by Scotch-Irish farmers in the 1700s. Anderson County maintains its deep agricultural roots and is ideally located on the shores of one of the largest and most popular water recreation sites in the southeast, Lake Hartwell. Anderson County has plenty of experiences to choose from including many farms and orchards, outdoor adventures, and towns large and small.
Since 1983 the Anderson County Museum has grown to be one of the largest museums of local history in South Carolina. The 25,000 square foot space features permanent exhibits, a temporary exhibit gallery, over 20,000 artifacts and a Reading and Research Room.
The 1855 charter of this small municipality refers to the town as "Honey Path." It was allegedly name for William Honey, an early trader and large landowner in the area. In 1917 the town was incorporated under the name "Honea Path," perhaps because the writing in the early document was so illegible that the "y" was read as an "a." In 1908, Honea Path was the smallest town awarded a library from the Andrew Carniegie foundation. Visitors to Honea Path can discover its history by visiting the town's people, its buildings and the surrounding rural farmlands.
This visitors center is located inside the Anderson Arts Warehouse, a 105-year-old former railroad warehouse that has been renovated while preserving the structure’s original bricks, wood and unique features. The Visitors Center offers all of the maps and brochures you will need, and is also home to a display of pedal cars dating from the 1930's through the 1950's, an impressive photography gallery and the Anderson Genealogical Society's archives.
This two-story antebellum home sits on property where the first Jersey and Hereford cattle were introduced into South Carolina. Built around 1825, the home was part of a 1275-acre farm estate. Today, the site encompasses ten of the original acres and also includes a two-story brick building that dates back to 1790 and is thought to have housed the first licensed tavern in the Upstate of South Carolina.
The Belton Center for the Arts is a community supported facility that explores the rich arts heritage of Belton by featuring work by local and regional artists. The center also has a gift shop and hosts special events and art classes.
This 1908 train depot showcases Belton and upstate history, memorabilia from SC’s tennis greats, and an exhibit gallery for rotating historical topics.
The Ruth Drake Museum is stocked with pioneer artifacts, train relics, 19th Century domestic items and agricultural implements. An extensive genealogy collection is also on site.
The SC Tennis Hall of Fame celebrates the achievements of SC's famous tennis stars. There are mementos from all of the Hall of Fame inductees.
Known as "The Electric City," Downtown Anderson's rich heritage and vibrant business community collide to offer visitors a blossoming center for history and culture! Attractions include Generator Park, Church Street (which was once a thriving center for African-American commerce during the twentieth century), the Anderson Arts Center and Warehouse, the Fire Musuem, Farmer's Market, Anderson County Museum and more!
Split Creek Farm is a Grade "A" goat dairy facility that produces goat cheese, goat milk fudge, yogurt and goat milk soap. The farm's registered goatherd produces all of the milk used in products. The goats and cheeses have been recognized nationally with numerous honors and awards.
Woodburn is a handsome, four-story mansion built around 1830 as a summer residence when Pendleton was one of South Carolina’s first summer resorts. With expansive porches, oversized doors/windows and high ceilings, it reflects the architectural tradition of Caribbean plantation houses which were designed for coolness. The farm was the birthplace of Jane Edna Hunter, a nationally recognized African-American activist and reformer who founded the Phyllis Wheatley Society.
In approximately 1842, West Allen Williams was riding through his property and became thirsty. He came to a spot that was damp and discovered clear trickling water under leaves and vines. After having the waters analyzed, it was found that the water contained minerals of medicinal qualities. News of the water quickly spread and visitors came from miles around. On December 6th of 1852, by an act of State Legislature, the Town of Williamston was chartered on this very land. Today, visit the Town of Williamston and re-discover the Mineral Springs Park and the rich history of this community. They even have an annual Spring Water Festival!