Since 1983 the Anderson County Museum has grown to be one of the largest museums of local history in South Carolina. The 25,000 square foot space features permanent exhibits, a temporary exhibit gallery, over 20,000 artifacts and a Reading and Research Room.
Jennie Erwin Carnegie Library
The 1855 charter of this small municipality refers to the town as "Honey Path." It was allegedly name for William Honey, an early trader and large landowner in the area. In 1917 the town was incorporated under the name "Honea Path," perhaps because the writing in the early document was so illegible that the "y" was read as an "a." In 1908, Honea Path was the smallest town awarded a library from the Andrew Carniegie foundation. Visitors to Honea Path can discover its history by visiting the town's people, its buildings and the surrounding rural farmlands.
Anderson Visitors Center
This visitors center is located inside the Anderson Arts Warehouse, a 105-year-old former railroad warehouse that has been renovated while preserving the structure’s original bricks, wood and unique features. The Visitors Center offers all of the maps and brochures you will need, and is also home to a display of pedal cars dating from the 1930's through the 1950's, an impressive photography gallery and the Anderson Genealogical Society's archives.
This two-story antebellum home sits on property where the first Jersey and Hereford cattle were introduced into South Carolina. Built around 1825, the home was part of a 1275-acre farm estate. Today, the site encompasses ten of the original acres and also includes a two-story brick building that dates back to 1790 and is thought to have housed the first licensed tavern in the Upstate of South Carolina.
Belton Center for the Arts
The Belton Center for the Arts is a community supported facility that explores the rich arts heritage of Belton by featuring work by local and regional artists. The center also has a gift shop and hosts special events and art classes.
Historic Belton Train Depot
This 1908 train depot showcases Belton and upstate history, memorabilia from SC’s tennis greats, and an exhibit gallery for rotating historical topics.
The Ruth Drake Museum is stocked with pioneer artifacts, train relics, 19th Century domestic items and agricultural implements. An extensive genealogy collection is also on site.
The SC Tennis Hall of Fame celebrates the achievements of SC's famous tennis stars. There are mementos from all of the Hall of Fame inductees.
Known as "The Electric City," Downtown Anderson's rich heritage and vibrant business community collide to offer visitors a blossoming center for history and culture! Attractions include Generator Park, Church Street (which was once a thriving center for African-American commerce during the twentieth century), the Anderson Arts Center and Warehouse, the Fire Musuem, Farmer's Market, Anderson County Museum and more!
Split Creek Farm
Split Creek Farm is a Grade "A" goat dairy facility that produces goat cheese, goat milk fudge, yogurt and goat milk soap. The farm's registered goatherd produces all of the milk used in products. The goats and cheeses have been recognized nationally with numerous honors and awards.
Woodburn is a handsome, four-story mansion built around 1830 as a summer residence when Pendleton was one of South Carolina’s first summer resorts. With expansive porches, oversized doors/windows and high ceilings, it reflects the architectural tradition of Caribbean plantation houses which were designed for coolness. The farm was the birthplace of Jane Edna Hunter, a nationally recognized African-American activist and reformer who founded the Phyllis Wheatley Society.
Williamston Mineral Spring Park
In approximately 1842, West Allen Williams was riding through his property and became thirsty. He came to a spot that was damp and discovered clear trickling water under leaves and vines. After having the waters analyzed, it was found that the water contained minerals of medicinal qualities. News of the water quickly spread and visitors came from miles around. On December 6th of 1852, by an act of State Legislature, the Town of Williamston was chartered on this very land. Today, visit the Town of Williamston and re-discover the Mineral Springs Park and the rich history of this community. They even have an annual Spring Water Festival!
Pendleton Visitors Center
Located in the center of Historic Pendleton, Hunter's Store was constructed in 1850 as a general store and operated for many decades by the Hunter family, selling everything from seeds and clothing to fresh eggs and farm tools.Since 1968 it has served as a visitors center and headquarters for the archives and research library.
First used as a bank in the early 1900s, then as a post office until the 1960s and later purchased by the Peoples Bank of Iva, this two-story brick structure in downtown Iva is now home to the Revivia Museum and Visitors Center that offers exhibits and local history.
The Easley Area Museum
The Easley Area Museum is the first local historical display museum dedicated to sharing the story of Easley, South Carolina. The mission of the museum is to promote the collection, preservation, educational interpretation and display of artifacts, documents, and events most representative of the Easley area. Special temporary exhibits and permanent displays are on view. The museum is also engaged in an ongoing effort to collect and document first-hand accounts of Easley’s history to be preserved for generations to come.